POP Award Recipients


Recipients received a “POP” lapel pin and movie tickets recognizing them as members of the Baylor College of Medicine community who demonstrate the characteristics of professionalism.

We are looking for a Baylor community member who demonstrate respect for the patient, family, the patient's local physician, and all consultants. This person recognizes the need for clear and compassionate communication, as well as recognizes and respects the value of differing opinions in clinical decision making. Learn more about nominations for the POP awards.

Congratulations to the following Center for Professionalism Power of Professionalism Award recipients!


2021 Recipients

  • Stephanie Marton, M.D., Assistant Professor, Pediatrics-Community Pediatrics         
  • Fatema Malburi, M.D., Assistant Professor, Pediatrics-Neurology            
  • Lisa Emrick, M.D., Assistant Professor, Pediatrics-Neurology                                
  • Lindsay Brettmann, M.D., Medical Resident PGY4, Medicine        
  • Karla Perez, M.A., Medicine - Nephrology, Outpatient Clinic                     
  • Kim Tran, M.D., Anesthesiology, PGY 4
  • Julina Ongkasuwan, M.D., Associate Professor, Otolaryngology
  • Chirayu Shah, M.D., Associate Professor, Medicine-General Med
  • Annie Phillips, Medical Student
  • Johnmicheal Parish, Medical Resident PGY4, Anesthesiology - Education
  • Uma Munnur, M.D., Professor, Radiology
  • Anvinh Nguyen, M.D., Assistant Professor, Anesthesiology
  • Gregory Gardner, M.D., Assistant Professor, Radiology
  • Sarah Sartain, M.D., Assistant Professor, Pediatrics-Hematology
  • Valeria Smith, M.D., Assistant Professor, Pediatrics-Oncology
  • Karen Rabin, M.D., Associate Professor, Pediatrics-Oncology
  • Jose G. Diez, M.D., Senior Faculty, Cpg Central-Cardiology
  • Kathleen Chen, M.D., Associate Professor, TCH Anesthesiology 
  • Veena Ramgopal, DO, Assistant Professor, Section of Pediatric Hospital Medicine
  • Lauren Scherer, M.D., Instructor, Pediatrics - Hematology & Oncology Clinical Division
  • Stephen R. McCauley, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
  • Hesham Mohamed, M.D., Assistant Professor, Family Medicine
  • Marlene Typaldos, M.D, Assistant Professor, Texas Children's Hospital, Pediatrics Pulmonary
  • Anna Messner, M.D., Professor, Texas Children's Hospital, Otolaryngology
  • Shraddha Mukerji,  M.D.., Assistant Professor, Texas Children's Hospital, Otolaryngology
  • Michele Villa-Castillo, M.D., (Graduated) Resident, Psychiatry

2020 Recipients

  • Ankhi Dutta, M.B.B.S., M.P.H, Assistant Professor, Pediatrics-Infectious Disease
  • Garrett Lucas, Chef, Morrison's Cafeteria, Baylor College of Medicine
  • Shane Jenks, M.D., Assistant Professor, Emergency Medicine
  • Alex Bui, M.D., Medical Resident-PGY3, Anesthesiology
  • Tiffany Raynor, M.D., Assistant Professor, Texas Children's Hospital, Otolaryngology
  • Yi-Chum Liu, M.D., Assistant Professor, Texas Children's Hospital, Otolaryngology, M.D.
  • Shreya Patel M.D., Fellow Physician Pgy5, Anesthesiology (2nd time winner)
  • Nidhy Varghese, M.D., Assistant Professor, Pediatrics - Pulmonary
  • Allison Heinen, D.O., Assistant Professor, Medicine - General Medicine
  • Vani Potluri, M.D., Assistant Professor, Medicine - General Medicine
  • Mary Suell, M.D., Assistant Professor, Pediatrics - Hematology & Oncology
  • Lisa Wang, M.D., Associate Professor, Pediatrics - Oncology
  • Elsa Isenberg, MPAS, Instructor - Physician Assistant, Pediatrics - Hematology & Oncology
  • Christopher Demetriades, M.D. Candidate, Class of 2021

2019 Recipients

  • Ahmed Awan, M.D., FACP, Assistant Professor, Medicine - Nephrology
  • Lydia Jane Sharp, M.D., Assistant Professor, Neurology
  • Connie Khanh Vu Tran, M.D., Associate Professor, Anesthesiology
  • Christopher Pirko, M.D., Medical Resident, Pgy2, Anesthesiology
  • Shreya Patel, M.D., Fellow Physician Pgy5, Anesthesiology
  • Ashley Roark, M.D., Assistant Professor, Radiology
  • Loan Ho, Instructor, Medicine-Gastroenterology
  • Meha Fox, M.D., Resident, Otolaryngology
  • Michael Coburn, M.D., Professor and Chair, Urology
  • Sarah K. Lyons, M.D., Pssistant Professor, Pediatrics-Diabetes and Endocrinology
  • Mary Frances Musso, D.O., Assistant Professor, Pediatrics-Otolaryngology
  • Sophia Banu, M.D., Associate Professor, Psychiatry AMS
  • Mollie Gordon, M.D., Associate Professor, Psychiatry AMS
  • Phuong Thanh Nguyen, M.D., Associate Professor, Psychiatry AMS
  • Yuqi Kevin Wang, M.D., Chief Resident, Radiology

2018 Recipients

  • Elton Ashe-Lambert, M.D., Assistant Professor, Pediatrics, Otolaryngology
  • John Coverdale, M.D., Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences (second-time winner)
  • Lorenzo Davis, MA II, Medicine-Outpatient Clinic
  • Shambra Exum, L.V.N., Dermatology
  • Mica Esquenazi, M.D., Medical Resident, Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
  • Imad Jarjour, M.D., Associate Professor, Pediatrics, Neurology
  • Lucy Huo, MS3
  • Rony Kampalath, M.D., Assistant Professor, Radiology
  • Taylor Kohn, MS4
  • Tsz-Kwong (Chris) Man, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Pediatrics-Oncology
  • Rachel Marek, M.D, Assistant Professor, Pediatrics-Hospital Medicine
  • Maria Martinez, MA, Dermatology
  • James Orengo, M.D., Assistant Professor, Neurology
  • Bryan Vartabedian, M.D., Assistant Professor, Pediatrics-Gastroenterology

2017 Recipients

  • Arvind Chintagumpa Mohan, MS3
  • Thien-Bao Peter Nguyen, MS3
  • Rajeev Raghavan, M.D., Associate Professor, Medicine-Nephrology
  • Geeta Singhal, M.D., Associate Professor, Pediatrics-Hospital Medicine