Department of Anesthesiology

Anesthesiology Residency


New Associate and Assistant Program Directors


Drs. Carlos Rodriguez and Susan Lee have accepted their new roles as associate program directors and Dr. Chris Deng has accepted the assistant program director position for the department of anesthesiology residency program.


Item Definition

Dr. Carlos Rodriguez completed his medical degree and residency at Baylor College of Medicine before joining on as faculty at Texas Children’s Hospital following his pediatric fellowship. He has served as the assistant program director since 2018 and during residency was nominated by the students and awarded the Department of Anesthesiology Resident Teaching Award twice. Dr. Rodriguez has also been awarded the Norton Rose Fulbright Award Excellence Award in Teaching and Evaluation and has previously served in multiple educational leadership roles including being the former associate director of education for anesthesiology residents at Texas Children’s Hospital.


Item Definition

Dr. Susan Lee received her medical degree from the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio and completed her residency at Baylor. She is currently a faculty member at Ben Taub Hospital and has been an assistant program director since 2018. She is a two-time recipient of the Norton Rose Fulbright Excellence Award in Teaching and Evaluation and is a graduate of the Master Teacher’s Fellowship Program. Dr. Lee is currently the chair of the clinical competency committee and was responsible for developing the anesthesia residency department’s Houses system with the goal of promoting a healthy resident environment.


Item Definition

Dr. Chris Deng attended Johns Hopkins School of Medicine for his medical degree and completed his residency at Baylor. Following fellowships in cardiothoracic anesthesiology and critical care, he joined as a faculty member at Ben Taub Hospital. He has been awarded the Department of Anesthesiology Resident Teaching Award three times as well as the Resident Mentor Award since joining. Dr. Deng is also currently the chair for the curriculum committee and has been instrumental in creating the POCUS and TEE curriculum for the residency program.


Message from the Program Director

Media Component
Lee Chang

Thank you for your interest in the Department of Anesthesiology at Baylor College of Medicine. We are an ACGME accredited program located in Houston and in the heart of the Texas Medical Center. Our primary focus is to provide the best possible experience and training for our residents. In addition to training at Ben Taub Hospital (a level 1 trauma center) and at the Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center, residents will have the opportunity to rotate at world-renowned hospitals including the Texas Children’s Hospital and the Texas Heart Institute at Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center. The amazing clinical experience they receive, combined with our structured and robust didactic curriculum, prepares our residents exceptionally well for independent practice or fellowships following graduation.

Speaking on behalf of the faculty here at Baylor College of Medicine, we are extremely proud of our residents and of the program. Each year we have a diverse group of residents join the program, yet they all share the common desire of wanting to become the best physician and anesthesiologist possible to serve our community. We strive to do our best to help them achieve that goal.

As always, please feel free to contact the residency office or myself with any questions you may have.

Lee Chang, M.D.
Residency Program Director

Back to topback-to-top