Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology

Molecular and Cellular Biology Joint Faculty

Master
Description

While their main appointments are in other departments, joint faculty broaden and enhance the academic environment in the Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology.

Return to Primary Faculty.

Terms

Kjersti Aagaard-Tillery, M.D., Ph.D.

Item Definition

Professor
Underlying mechanisms by which key exposures during pregnancy impact fetal development and later in life disease
aagaardt@bcm.edu

Jamie Anastas, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Assistant Professor
Brain tumors driven by histone mutations; Epigenetics of therapeutic resistance; CRISPR screening for cancer dependencies; WNT signaling in cancer
jamie.anastas@bcm.edu

Mandeep Bajaj, M.D.

Item Definition

Professor
Understanding of the metabolic and molecular basis of insulin resistance in patients with type 2 diabetes
bajaj@bcm.edu

Sarah Blutt, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Associate Professor
sb691007@bcm.edu

Lisa Bouchier-Hayes, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Assistant Professor
Caspase regulation in cancer; and caspase activation during inflammation
bouchier@bcm.edu

Changyi (Johnny) Chen, M.D., Ph.D.

Item Definition

Professor
Basic science research projects that are highly relevant to clinical cardiovascular disease and pancreatic cancer
jchen@bcm.edu

Chonghui Cheng, M.D., Ph.D.

Item Definition

Associate Professor
chonghui.cheng@bcm.edu

Thomas Cooper, M.D.

Item Definition

Professor
tcooper@bcm.edu

Vladimir Didenko, M.D., Ph.D.

Item Definition

Associate Professor
vdidenko@bcm.edu

Lawrence Donehower, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Professor
Tumor Suppressor Genes in Cancer and Cancer Genomics
larryd@bcm.edu

Bingning Dong, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Assistant Professor
bingning.dong@bcm.edu

Gloria Echeverria, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Assistant Professor
Molecular mechanisms of metabolic adaptations, therapy resistance, and metastasis in triple negative breast cancer
gloria.echeverria@bcm.edu

Matthew Ellis, MB, BChir, Ph.D., FRCP

Item Definition

Professor and Director, Lester and Sue Smith Breast Center
Proteogenomics of endocrine therapy resistance, circulating tumor DNA based-monitoring in early-stage and advanced breast cancer and translational research in breast cancer
mjellis@bcm.edu
Matthew Ellis Lab

Xiaoyong Fu, M.D., Ph.D.

Item Definition

Assistant Professor
Epigenetic and transcriptional reprogramming in therapy-resistant breast cancer
xiaoyonf@bcm.edu

Loning Fu, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Associate Professor
loningf@bcm.edu

Suzanne Fuqua, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Professor
fuqua@bcm.edu

Dongyin Guan, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Assistant Professor 
The Guan lab explores the intra- and inter-organ communications of time signals modulating the physiological function in metabolic disorders and cancer. Our ultimate goal is optimizing timing for medication and meals. 

Sean Hartig, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Assistant Professor
Cellular aspects of obesity and diabetes. Molecular and genetic regulation of lipid and carbohydrate metabolism
hartig@bcm.edu

Daoyun Ji, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Professor
dji@bcm.edu

Salma

Item Term
Salma Kaochar, M.D.

Item Definition

Assistant Professor
salma.kaochar@bcm.edu

Weei-Chin Lin, M.D., Ph.D.

Item Definition

Professor
Novel targeted cancer therapy, cell cycle regulation, DNA damage, DNA repair, ATM/ATR, E3 ubiquitin ligase, Rb/E2F, mutant p53
weeichil@bcm.edu

Anna Malovannaya, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Assistant Professor
malovann@bcm.edu

Marco Marcelli, M.D.

Item Definition

Professor and Interim Section Chief
marcelli@bcm.edu

Jason Mills, M.D., Ph.D.

Item Definition

Professor, Center Co-Director
Paligenosis: The shared cellular-molecular mechanisms differentiated cells  use to become progenitor or stem-like in regeneration and tumorigenesis
Jason.Mills@bcm.edu

Nicholas Mitsiades, M.D.

Item Definition

Associate Professor
mitsiade@bcm.edu

C Kent Osborne, M.D.

Item Definition

Stephanie Pangas, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Associate Professor
Female reproductive biology, including ovary development and function. Studies are based on the generation and analysis of mouse genetic models.
spangas@bcm.edu

Xinchun Pi, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Assistant Professor
xinchun.pi@bcm.edu

Matthew Rasband, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Professor and Vivian L Smith Endowed Chair in Neuroscience
rasband@bcm.edu

Todd Rosengart, M.D., FACS

Item Definition

Professor and Chair, Department of Surgery
Todd.Rosengart@bcm.edu

 

Rachel Schiff, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Professor
Genomic and epigenomic underlying mechanisms of treatment resistance and metastasis in breast cancer and biomarkers for tailored therapeutics
rschiff@bcm.edu

David Sheikh-Hamad, M.D.

Item Definition

Professor
The study of mitochondrial pathways for kidney protection from ischemic acute kidney injury, and the transition to CKD
sheikh@bcm.edu

Richard Sifers, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Professor
Cell Biology; Protein quality control in the secretory pathway; Proteostasis; Genetic disease; Disease modifiers
rsifers@bcm.edu

Sundararajah Thevananther, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Associate Professor
Molecular characterization of liver injury (sepsis, sterile inflammation, fatty liver disease), liver regeneration and hepatocellular carcinoma
sundarat@bcm.edu

Francis Tsai, DPhil

Item Definition

Professor
ftsai@bcm.edu

Jin Wang, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Michael E. DeBakey, MD, Professor in Pharmacology
Developing chemical biology tools to advance biological and biomedical research. Developing novel therapeutics to treat human diseases.
wangj@bcm.edu

Zhao Wang, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Assistant Professor
Nuclear Receptor; Membrane Proteins/Ion channel; Drug Efflux Pump;​​​​​​; cryo-EM/ET
zhaow@bcm.edu

Clavia Ruth Wooton-Kee, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Assistant Professor
Genetic liver diseases, such as Wilson's disease, as well as the impact of xenobiotic and endobiotic stress on the liver
wootenke@bcm.edu

Yong Xu, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Professor
yongx@bcm.edu

Laising Yen, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Associate Professor
yen@bcm.edu

Nicholas Young, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Associate Professor
nicolas.young@bcm.edu

Li-Yuan Yu-Lee, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Professor
yulee@bcm.edu

Jason Yustein, M.D., Ph.D.

Item Definition

Associate Professor
Molecular understanding of sarcoma metastasis and therapeutic resistance; Novel model development; Therapeutic and pre-clinical studies
yustein@bcm.edu