National School of Tropical Medicine



The National School of Tropical Medicine accepts membership application from individuals who have expertise in tropical medicine in academia, government, and industry. The criteria for membership acceptance are:

  • The applicant must be nominated by one of the core faculty members of the National School of Tropical Medicine.
  • The applicant must demonstrate expertise in tropical medicine in research, education, and/or clinical care.
  • The applicant must be willing to contribute to the NSTM in teaching, presentation of lecturers/seminars, research, or clinical activities.

Members are considered subject matter experts. Depending on the institutions with which the members are associated, they are classified into one of the three categories:

Core Members: Members from the NSTM main core institutions: Baylor College of Medicine and Texas Children’s Hospital.

Affiliate Members: Members from Texas Medical Center affiliates.

Collaborative Members: Members from other collaborative United States and international institutions.

Membership application and renewal are reviewed annually in May. The criteria for renewal is continued contribution to tropical medicine in research, education, clinical, and/or policy. Note: NSTM core faculty and members who lecture for the NSTM will have their membership renewed automatically.

NSTM Membership List